Caregiver Education


Education to Expand Your Caregiving Knowledge:

Idaho Commission on Aging

The Idaho Commission on Aging (ICOA) has put together some great educational skill builders on dementia, caregiving, and healthy caregiving. To find out more go to the ICOA’s website and look up Stay Educated

Idaho Parents Unlimited Inc.

Idaho Parents Unlimited Inc. or IPUL have put together an extensive directory of online training videos to help individuals with disabilities, and their families, gain the knowledge needed to enhance their quality of life.

Idaho Federation of Families for Children’s Mental Health

Idaho Federation of Families for Children’s Mental Health is an organization that helps “promote and seek solutions for mental health well being for Idaho’s children and youth” and are a chapter of the national Federation of Families for Children’s Mental Health. Their website provides educational materials, webinars, and community resources

Idaho Mental Health Services

The Idaho Mental Health Services provides state funded and operated community based mental health care services through Regional Behavioral Health Centers or RBHC. Click on the link to access a map and to learn more about the services provided and the mission that guides the Idaho Mental Health Services. 

Powerful Tools for Caregivers

Powerful Tools for Caregivers (PTC) provides education for caregivers on stress reduction, emotion management, self confidence, and awareness of community resources. Many of the Area Agencies on Aging provide PTC throughout Idaho, a current list is provided below or you can contact your local AAA.

Youth Empowerment Services (YES)

Youth Empowerment Services aka YES, is a new system of coordinated care that provides options for families who need care for their children with serious emotional disturbance (SED).  This new system of coordinated care was created in partnership by the Department of Health and Welfare, State Department of Education, and the Idaho Department of Juvenile Corrections. 

North Idaho Area Agency on Aging with North Idaho College Alzheimer’s Association
Barbara Bisaro
208-667-3179
manders@aaani.org

Alzheimer’s Association
Inland Northwest Chapter
Patricia (PJ) Christo
208-666-2996
pchristo@alz.org

Tiffany Pettit
Holly Johnson
208-798-4202
tpettit@theorchardcda.org
hjohnson@theorchardcda.org

Syringa Hospital and Clinics
Maja Ledgerwood
208-315-2797
mledgerwood@syringahospital.org

Southwest Idaho Area Agency on Aging
Michelle Randall
208-898-7060
Michelle.Randall@a3ssa.com

Legacy Corps at Jannus, Inc.
Melissa Radloff
208-333-1363
mradloff@jannus.org

Southeast Idaho Area Agency on Aging at the Idaho Council of Governments
Mike Hirschi
(208) 399-3077
mike@sicog.org

Eastern Idaho Area Agency on Aging at Community Action Partnerships
Morgan Nield
208-522-5370 Ext 1052
mnield@eicap.org